Wonder Woman With A Shopping Bag

I hate painting! Specifically the house painting variety, or in this case train room painting. I had set out over a week ago to have the room finished and ready for layout building by yesterday but the endless acres of plaster board were defeating me. Then Wonder Woman turned up with a plastic shopping bag on her head and she solved half my problems.

I think my partner Louise knew I was struggling to finish the painting of my train room when I gave myself a break and mowed the lawn. On a list of my 10 least favourite jobs, mowing the lawn would come in pretty high on the list, just above painting. So when she suggested she’d come over Sunday morning and give me a hand I was surprised and a little skeptical. Afterall she’s building herself a new home and her every waking moment, including 7am on a Sunday, is filled with the thousand and one things she needs to think about. And I do mean she’s building it herself: she’s an owner builder which means the guys at the local fastener shop all know her by name, as in “what are you after today Louise”, she’s nailed over 340 joist hangers into place in between building herself wooden steps, arguing with the concreter and running back and forth to Bunnings.

She said “I’ll be there at 7am, make sure the kettle’s on” to which I replied “ok”. Then she asked, “have you got a shower cap,” to which I replied a confused “no”. 7am on a Sunday morning, what sort of a time to be getting out of bed is that?!?! And I have no intention showering in a cap! 🙂 Anyway she rolls up, sets up a mysterious piece of equipment and proceeds to paint the ceiling. After we’d finished and got cleaned up we had enough time to hook up the trailer and head to the biggest Bunnings in SE Qld and still make it back in time for a 12 noon meeting with some young bloke she’s hired to work on her house build on weekends.

And if you’re wondering, yes that’s a plastic shopping bag on Louise’s head. Something about needing to protect her hair. At least this explains why she wanted to know if I owned a shower cap.

Now I can’t say exactly how long it would have taken me to roller the entire ceiling but I would guess at least 6-8 hours. Louise and her fancy little Wagner spray machine had the whole job knocked over in 2 hours. Of course she’d purcashed this in preparation for painting the new house she’s building. Me, I’d rather spend money on my trains 🙂

The only problem is I can’t tell her I’m writing this because she doesn’t know I took the photo and if she finds out I posted it my life won’t be worth living 🙂