Decking

I’ve made some steady progress this past week on the planked deck for the wooden pier at Morpeth. The core of the straight length of this structure is a 1.1mX220mm piece of 4mm thick plywood that I cut to size quite a while ago. I made some slight adjustments to this piece of ply last weekend and then started the task of covering it in a layer of detailed strip wood.

This shot shows the pier deck with the basic bass wood planking and surrouding strip wood in place.

This shot shows the pier deck with the basic bass wood planking and surrounding strip wood in place.

In the planning stages of this project (at least 2 years ago) I made the decision that I couldn’t cram in a set of points onto the pier to allow the passage of locomotives and wagons onto to the two lines I planned to run on it. The prototype at Coffs Harbour had points on the deck but I just didn’t have enough length to allow this. I came to the decision that I could live with a single line running from the layout out onto the pier and the other line would essentially be a short length of straight track that would be confined to the pier itself with no direct connection to the mainland. The plan is to use this line for a scratchbuilt crane “contraption” that will shuffle back and forth along the rails with the other line running out to the pier by a curved trestle and onto an adjacent line. This is the reason this planked deck is wide enough for two lines but the trestle only carries a single line. The effect I’m after is something like this…

While the health nd safety aspects of this photo make me weak at the knees, what I'm interested in is the crowded deck of the the wooden pier, the rail lines and the pier mounted steam crane. I will represent elements of this scene on my own pier.

While the health and safety aspects of this photo make me weak at the knees, what I’m really interested in is the crowded deck of the wooden pier, the rail lines and the pier mounted steam crane. I will represent elements of this scene on my own pier.

After finishing the decking on my pier surface I turned the 4mm ply over and got to work installing the underside beams that will allow the wooden trestles to hold it above the water’s surface. I ran three longitudinal beams down the length of the pier and then glued 45 corbels to these in 9 different spots I’d pre-marked on the underside of the plywood.

This is the underside of the piers deck. You can see the corbels clearly in this shot. The length of 12

This is the underside of the pier’s deck. You can see the corbels clearly in this shot. The crossways length of 12″X12″ represents the orientation of the trestle legs will take when they have been assembled. There will be nine in all.

I couldn’t resist plonking the ship’s hull next to the pier to see what it looked like. I’d cut the bottom off this structure some time ago and it had sat forlornly in my modelling room waiting to be launched. It will be built as the final major project for this layout. Who says a layout isn’t ever finished? 🙂

It doesn't look much at the moment but I'll soon get to work on the kit to provide my pier scene with a ocean going connection.

She doesn’t look much at the moment but I’ll soon get to work on the kit to provide my pier scene with an ocean going connection.

2 thoughts on “Decking

  1. Hi Trevor,

    I love the extent you go to to add those extra details that really make a layout stand out.

    Looking forward to seeing the ship finished!
    Cheers
    Kimbal

Leave a Reply

