The Jetty

I thought I might post a couple of quick shots of some of the pier timbers in place. These are very preliminary shots with the sleeper timbers just sitting on the piers, but it gives you the general idea. I’ve left out the 3rd 12″x12″ centre beam from these shots as I haven’t reached a stage where I can cut and stain them yet.

This is an early shot of the jetty piers in postion but not yet secured permanently in place. At the time of wrting this these have now been glued into position. I had planned to also bolt these through from underneath with brass BA bolts only to disciver that I'd run through my entire supply of nuts. That's what happens when you scratch build locomotives! :-)

This is a preliminary shot of the jetty piers in position, but not yet secured permanently in place. At the time of writing these have now been glued into position. I had planned to also bolt these through from underneath with brass BA bolts only to discover that I’d run through my entire supply of appropriately sized nuts. That’s what happens when you scratch build locomotives! 🙂

It hasn’t been all plain sailing with a couple of small problems I’ve discovered as I’ve steadily worked on the piers but overall I’m happy with progress so far. I find myself devoting far more time to this sort of stage of a project than I would if I were just constructing a kit or making a building. I find bridge and pier building to be one of my very favourite aspects of the hobby.

I have just posed these sleeper timbers on the beams for the photo. I have more timber to cut, distress and stain before I'll be ready to glue any of these timbers into position.

I’ve just posed these sleeper timbers on the beams for the photo. I have more timber to cut, distress and stain before I’ll be ready to glue any of these timbers into position.

The reason I moved onto this part of the project rather than complete the scenery you can see on the “headlands” in the foreground is that I wanted to get the rails laid across the module joins. I’m in the process of moving house and there’s a strong possibility that these two sections of layout will be 100km apart for a couple of months and I would like to lay the rails across the join between the two modules and test a loco on the pier prior to this happening.

The spots where locomotives step out from “dry land” onto bridges or piers, especially ones made from wood, are one of the demarkation points that distinguishes railways from roadways. A roadway going over a bridge is just an extension of the road but a rail line going over a bridge has integral significance because it carries within its structure the means by with the train steers itself to the other side. There’s engineering poetry within a wooden railway bridge or jetty that no other structure equals. For me such structures are one of the reasons railways are worth modelling and are part of the explanation as to why I’m in this hobby.

2 thoughts on “The Jetty

  1. Looking good Trevor. Are the “:headlands” constructed from foam, plaster and groundcover or other base materials?
    Cheers
    Kimbal

    • Kimbal,
      They’re made from a gold coloured extruded foam. I just glued them down, crved the shape and then glued on a layer of initial ground foam. When I’ve got the rail laid on the jetty I’ll come back and finish the foliage cover.

Leave a Reply

