Blockwork

I wanted to demonstrate how relatively quick this method of using DAS as a modelling medium is in getting good results. I was off work today and spent a couple of hours working on the mill. I spent the time carving in the blockwork foundation.

This shot shows the inside corner of the mill close enough to allow the detail in the blocks to be seen. There's no real art to this process: you just carve the lines with a scribed of some type and hack at the squares till you get the look you want.

This shot shows the inside corner of the mill close enough to allow the detail in the blocks to be seen. There’s no real art to this process: you just carve the lines with a scriber of some type and hack at the squares till you get the look you want.

I suppose I managed to get about 2 1/2 hours of time to spend on the project and the foundation is completed.

I’m currently trying to decide how I intend colouring the building because this step is rushing up. I’m thinking of a black India ink wash over the whole building, various appropriate acrylic colours painted on the stones and bricks and then a set of washes (mostly yellow ochre and an olive-green to represent moss where the stones get wet) of water colours thinned right down. I need to do some experiments.

Leave a Reply

