Finished! (Almost)

Well I got the 20 wired up and running tonight and these are the first photos of it after running all of 50cm back and forth on part of Morpeth. The good people of Morpeth have waited an awfully long time for a 20 class to arrive in town.

The headlight on the rear of the loco was working when I first placed it on the track but it suddenly decided to cark it after I took this shot.

The headlight on the rear of the loco was working when I first placed it on the track but it suddenly decided to cark it so I’ll have to look into that…later.

I managed to get the loco and body reassembled for their little flight to Sydney over the weekend. Not without a couple more dramas. The rear headlight decided that it wasn’t going to cooperate after working when I first placed it on the track. Probably a loose wire but I don’t really have time to go in and investigate so it will have to wait upon my return home next week. I also ran out of time and couldn’t install the front marker lights so these are still empty shells. However the sound is glorious and bloody loud so I’m happy with my earlier decision to follow John’s advice and cram in the large speaker. It almost parts my hair when I sound the whistle 🙂

This photo makes the 20 look a little high in the reat end. I've used a slight;y stronger spring in this assembly over the bogie and this might be causing some rise in the rear but I can investigate that later too.

This photo makes the 20 look a little high in the rear end. I’ve used a slightly stronger spring over the bogie since I felt the lighter spring I used the last time I assembled it wasn’t holding the loco level. This might be causing some rise in the rear but I can investigate that later too.

4 thoughts on “Finished! (Almost)

  1. Nice work, Trevor. I’d look at the online menu now for Norths Leagues; I think Bruce can concede defeat on this one, unless he and Keiran have done some sneaky late-night work!

Leave a Reply

