And Now For The Bogies

This post is just to show the start I’ve made on the bogie. Same process as the main frames, just smaller. Two thickness of .7mm nickel silver are tack soldered together, the plan is photocopied and glued to one side and the shape is cut of with a piercing saw. Easy as anything.

I've just propped the bogie frames up on a piece of balsa for this shot. I haven't even bothered to scrub the paper plan off yet. The wheels are some I've had sitting for years in a cupboard and they had rusted up badly. It took me almost as long to get the rust off as it did to cut the frames for the bogie out.

I’ve just propped the bogie frames up on a piece of balsa for this shot. I haven’t even bothered to scrub the paper plan off yet. The wheels are some I’ve had sitting for years in a cupboard and they had rusted up badly. It took me almost as long to get the rust off as it did to cut the frames for the bogie out.

I took this shot tonight to give myself a chance to take a look at the clearance over the bogie and to test the way parts look together. I tend to photograph everything I do, mainly to track progress but it’s amazing how much you see in a photo that you don’t pick up just looking at the model. Digital photography is a great modelling tool and it goes well beyond just posting the image on a blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

