The Other End

This photo shows the other end of the room. I've already decided I don't really like this arrangment so things are going to shift about a bit. Every bench and workspace you can see in this photo excpet the big one in the centre is mounted on wheels so shifting things about isn't that much of a problem.

This photo shows the other end of the room. I’ve already decided I don’t really like this arrangment so things are going to shift about a bit. Every bench and workspace you can see in this photo excpet the big one in the centre is mounted on wheels so shifting things about isn’t that much of a problem.

3 thoughts on “The Other End

  1. There is something really positive about having a whole room available for the new ’empire’. The opportunity to move things around, try out new ideas and just make progress. Challenging and invigorating. The last time I had that was just before I started building Wallerawang. (Envious look). I look forward to following the ongoing process.
    John

  2. Hello Trevor As a new commer to O-scale I have been watching the develpment of the Morpeth room to see if if you mention the size of the new room .As mentioned I am a new commer to O, I am looking at 8m x 10m with an island work bench exactly the same as your set up . Going this size so to accomodate the 60 class from Model O. May I ask what style of support for your new railway will you be using or preffer Thanks and regards Roger Anderson

    • Roger,
      The dimensions for the room are on the plan I posted a week or so ago. Approximately 7.3mx4.9m. You should have more than enough space with 8mx10m for a layout to run the Garratt on. You really should be aiming for a minimum radius of no less than 1.8m (6′) on a layout aimed at that loco. I’ll be building my benchwork in approximately 2 weeks and I’ll post some details then, however you need to keep in mind that my two small portable layouts are already built and have their support structure complete. If I were building a layout from scratch in a dedicated space the benchwork I’d build would be quite different. All I really need to build is some legs for the two pre-existing layouts with a section to connect the two. If I were bilding from scratch I’d be building something that would be built from the ground up.
      What part of the country are you from if you don’t mind me asking?
      Trevor

Leave a Reply

