Morpeth Fiddle Yard

6 thoughts on “Morpeth Fiddle Yard

  1. It works!

    Question on the loco sound — I felt like the loco never got above idle. While it appears to be a light train I would think that the engine revs should advance as the electrical load was increased on the generator.

    We owned a house in NJ near the tracks where they stored a commuter train over night. On winter mornings the diesels ran at full blast to provide power to heat up the cars. The noise was as great as when they pulled out of the station. Granted it was a heavier train but just something I noticed.

  2. Your fiddle yard/turntable works very well.I like the simple construction method you’ve used I have been thinking of replacing the cassettes for a turntable, an article in the MRJ issue 199 describes one for S scale but I like the way yours operates.
    Regards Peter

    • Peter,
      Yeah I read that article too and it did play a part in my thinking for my turntable. I was originally going to try out the idea of using the drawer slides to allow the turntable to be drawn off centre when turned but I couldn’t convince myself that the whole thing wouldn’t over balance and crash to the floor. The layout in the MRJ article I think was permanent so the turntable was tied to the wall of his house. I also saw a very similar article on this type of set up in Railway Modeller at about the same time as the MRJ article.
      Trevor

  3. Trevor
    Your fiddle yard is a wonderful idea for my own railroad. I am curious as to the details of construction. Do you have some general dimensions or description that will allow me to develop one in P48.

    Thanks
    Gene

    • Gene,
      Firstly I’d refer you to the photos I posted on the blog of the fiddle yard on Feb 11, Feb 19 & March 12, 2013. These shots show some detail of the early development of the unit. The “runners” and the “turntable spider” were sourced from the UK firm Station Road Baseboards. There’s a link to this company on the blog. The dimensions of the fiddle yard are as follows: Length of module = 2045mm (6′ 8 1/2″), Width of module = 585mm (1′ 11″), Length of the table = 1500mm (4′ 11″), Radius of table = 750mm (2′ 51/2″), Overhang = 455mm (1′ 6″). By the overhand I mean the amount that hangs over the edge of the module when the table is turned. The table is made from 9mm ply. The small central “platform” that the spider turns on is 12mm ply (1/2″) as I felt this needed to be a little more robust to resist slumping over time. I’ve decided that I could have made the table a little longer than I did. It is only 1.5m long and I feel I could quite easily have got away with it being 1.7m (say about an extra 8″ longer) and possibly up to 1.9m. This would have allowed for a couple more wagons in a train’s consist, no small consideration on a layout of this type. The steel cables would have more than handled the extra length. I hope this answers you question. If not let me know.

      • Trevor
        Thank you for the information. This will help greatly with the planning and construction.
        This approach saves me from building a fiddle yard on a lower level. It would have been a pain to work a train makeup.

        Gene

Leave a Reply

