Basic Roof

This shot is the photo I'd wanted to take last weekend. It shows the basic elements of the station building in place on the layout. I feel that this stage in a model's development is very important. Once the basic shape is defined like this I spend a lot of time simply sitting and looking at the model on the layout. I do this to check that I'm happy with the way it looks in comparison to prototype photos and the impact it produces as a model in a modelled landscape. I want my buildings to look realisitic. I'm not interested in might have beens or caricatures of buildings. This is probably why I don't model narrow guage, which often seems to produce wonderful modelling but also a lot of "might have beens".

This shot is the photo I’d wanted to take last weekend. It shows the basic elements of the station building in place on the layout. I feel that this stage in a model’s development is very important. Once the basic shape is defined like this I spend a lot of time simply sitting and looking at the model on the layout. I do this to check that I’m happy with the way it looks in comparison to prototype photos and the impact it produces as a model in a modelled landscape. I want my buildings to look realisitic. I’m not interested in might have beens or caricatures of buildings. This is probably why I don’t model narrow guage, which often seems to produce wonderful modelling but also a lot of “might have beens”.

One thought on “Basic Roof

  1. Trevor, you’ve built something that has ‘weight’ and presence, the colours and textures look fantastic. Can’t wait to see it finished, Geoff.

Leave a Reply

