Some Background

I’ve been working in O-scale (1:43.5) since 2000 and before that in I was working in HO. In both scales, I’ve always modelled the standard gauge railways of New South Wales, my home state.

For most of the time I’ve been working in O-scale my modelling focus has been a short branchline that ran to the NSW town of Morpeth, about 150km north of Sydney. The line was closed in 1953.

While I model a real line, I can’t claim that the layouts I’ve built stick too closely to the prototype. I find O-scale has some real positives but I’ve got to admit that it doesn’t allow me to be too fussy when it comes to following prototype track arrangements: I fit in what I can and imagineer the rest. Lets say I let the Morpeth line inspire my modelling rather than direct it.

I’ve built three layouts that have used Morpeth as their inspiration:

– The first layout, which was christened Morpeth, was a small “permanent” layout that survived just long enough to see trains running.

– The second layout, named Queens Wharf after a station stop on the real line, was built as a small, experimental exhibition layout. This layout still exists and occasionally gets an outing to an exhibition.

– The third layout is the second one with the name Morpeth. This one is currently under construction and will form the ongoing subject matter of this blog.

So where to from here?

I’m still learning how to drive this blog, so I’m not making any claims about what direction things might take. As anyone who is a member of the Yahoo! groups I’m a member of will know, I enjoy writing about my trains and I like telling a story.

My current focus is preparing Queens Wharf for an upcoming exhibition and teaching myself how to use a milling machine I’ve recently purchased. So the modelling projects that will be occupying my time in the forseeable future will be populating this layout with buildings and scenery, scratch building a steam locomotive and looking at how I might build myself a larger, “permanent” layout.

If that sounds of any interest then stick around.

Leave a Reply

